Monday, January 18, 2010

Review: "Veracity" by Laura Bynum (Blog Tour!)


Product Details
Pocket, January 2010
Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 1439123349
ISBN-13: 9781439123348
***************************
Book Summary: (from Simon and Schuster)
Harper Adams was six years old in 2012 when an act of viral terrorism wiped out one-half of the country's population. Out of the ashes rose a new government, the Confederation of the Willing, dedicated to maintaining order at any cost.
The populace is controlled via government-sanctioned sex and drugs, a brutal police force known as the Blue Coats, and a device called the slate, a mandatory implant that monitors every word a person speaks. To utter a Red-Listed, forbidden word is to risk physical punishment or even death.

But there are those who resist. Guided by the fabled "Book of Noah," they are determined to shake the people from their apathy and ignorance, and are prepared to start a war in the name of freedom. The newest member of this resistance is Harper -- a woman driven by memories of a daughter lost, a daughter whose very name was erased by the Red List. And she possesses a power that could make her the underground warriors' ultimate weapon -- or the instrument of their destruction.

In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Laura Bynum has written an astonishing debut novel about a chilling, all-too-plausible future in which speech is a weapon and security comes at the highest price of all.
**************************************************
My Review:
Wow, What a book! Have you heard the term "big brother is watching you?" If you have and you've thought about it then this is a book too read. Conspiracy theory anyone; have you ever thought of that?
Well then check out "Veracity", it's a scary book to read and makes you grateful to live in a world where we can make our own choices! have you ever wondered what it would be like to have everything you ever do or say monitored? To be punished for saying a WORD that others think is wrong?
This book covers all that and more, and it really makes you think."Veracity" makes you scared, thankful, thoughtful, and grateful all at once for the freedoms we do have.
It was a great read for me and I highly recommend it for Sci-Fi readers!
*this book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review*
Blog Tour Participants:
Books Gardens & Dogs: http://maryinhb.blogspot.com/
Brizmus Blogs About Books: http://brizmusblogsbooks.blogspot.com/
Pam’s Private Reflections: http://hip2bhomeschooling.blogspot.com/
My Book Addiction and More: www.mybookaddictionandmore.wordpress.comS
My Guilty Pleasures: http://www.mgpblog.com/
The Bibliophilic Book Blog: http://www.bibliophilicbookblog.com/
Wendy’s Minding Spot: http://mindingspot.blogspot.com/
Parajunkee’s View: http://parajunkee.blogspot.com/
The Wayfaring Writer: http://moonsanity.blogspot.com/
You Wanna Know What I Think?: http://www.kballard87.blogspot.com/
Bookfoolery & Babble: http://bookfoolery.blogspot.com/
My Life In Not So Many Words: http://www.ziarias.blogspot.com/

2 comments:

  1. This was a great book! I'm so glad I participated in this. What a creepy world! I couldn't put this book down this entire weekend. But I love books like this, makes me want to go revisit 1984, which this was so reminiscent of. Thanks for the review hun - Parajunkee

    ReplyDelete
  2. Not an environment I would want to live in. Again, I thought it was ok.

    ReplyDelete